Affiliate disclosure. We earn commissions from some platforms (including Maclear, which pays us a commission) - rankings are not independent. Capital at risk; P2P lending may result in total loss. Read full disclosure →
A vintage wall clock - in P2P lending your money comes back on the loan's schedule, not yours, unless you pay to leave early.

How to Get Money Out of P2P Lending Before Maturity

How to get money out of P2P lending early: what a secondary-market exit really costs, which platforms have no exit at all, and how to plan yours.

How to Get Money Out of P2P Lending Before Maturity

Every P2P platform page shows you the interest rate. Almost none of them show you the exit. When you lend money through a platform, you are not depositing it, you are buying a claim on a borrower’s repayments, and that claim comes back on the borrower’s schedule. If you need the money sooner, you have two options: find another investor to buy the claim from you, or wait. This guide explains how a secondary market actually clears, what an early exit really costs in euros, which of the 19 platforms in the table below have no exit at all, and how to plan your liquidity before you invest rather than after. We use the published terms of Maclear, which ranks #3 of the 44 platforms we track at 8.4/10, as the worked example, because it discloses its exit rules in more detail than most.

TL;DR

  • P2P money is parked, not stored. The default exit is the loan’s own repayment schedule. Anything faster is a sale to another investor, and it is never free.
  • The cost of an early exit is the discount you offer plus the seller fee. On Maclear a EUR 1,000 position sold at a 3% discount nets EUR 945.75 after the 2.5% fee, roughly four and a half months of interest at 14.5%.
  • Seller fees across the platforms we track range from 0% (PeerBerry) to 2.5% (Maclear), with Mintos at 0.85% and EstateGuru at 1%. Seven platforms have no secondary market at all.
  • A secondary market is only an exit if buyers exist. On EstateGuru and Reinvest24 the market still exists on paper while most of the loan book sits in recovery, and nobody buys a claim on a stalled loan.
  • Maclear’s secondary market cleared every listing between June 2025 and March 2026 with a median time to sell of about three hours, according to the platform. That is the best published liquidity record in the segment, and it is still a platform statistic, not a guarantee.
  • The cheapest exit is the one you planned: match loan terms to the date you need the money and keep a cash reserve outside P2P.

Your money is parked, not stored

The first thing to unlearn is the bank-account mental model. A savings account is a liability of the bank: you can ask for the money and the bank owes it to you. A P2P investment is a claim on a specific borrower, or on a set of loans from a lending company, and the platform is an intermediary. The platform does not owe you the money. The borrower does, on the dates written in the loan agreement.

Mintos says this in its own help centre in plain words: “when you invest on Mintos, you should be prepared to hold your investment until maturity” [source: Mintos Help Center, updated 7 May 2026]. That sentence applies to every platform in our coverage, whether it prints it or not.

It matters because the typical loan term in this segment is not short. Maclear’s business loans run mostly 12 to 16 months, with some at 8 to 9 months and a few 2-month bullet loans [source: Maclear-full SS5]. EstateGuru’s property loans are 12 to 18 months and, as we set out in P2P Collateral LTV Explained, an enforced loan can take years to resolve. Even the “short-term” consumer loans we rank in Best P2P Short Term carry the possibility of extensions that push a 30-day loan out to 240 days when the originator uses every permitted extension, a mechanism we described in P2P Buyback Guarantee Explained.

So before any discussion of secondary markets, the honest default is: the money comes back when the loan says it does.

How a secondary market actually clears

A secondary market is a notice board inside the platform where you list a loan position you already hold and another investor buys it. The buyer takes over the remaining repayment schedule. You get cash, minus whatever it cost to attract the buyer.

Three mechanics decide what that costs you.

Price. You can usually list at face value (par), at a discount, and on some platforms at a premium. A discount is the only lever you have to speed up a sale. On Maclear, sellers can apply a discount of up to 50% of nominal value and the price cannot exceed the original investment amount, so premiums are not possible [source: Maclear, How to Use the Secondary Market, 24 June 2026]. On Mintos you can list at a premium, at par or at a discount [source: Mintos Help Center]. PeerBerry allows discounts up to 50% and no premiums [source: PeerBerry-full SS5].

Fee. The seller pays, the buyer usually does not. Maclear charges 2.5% of the sale price, but only if the sale completes; an expired or cancelled listing costs nothing [source: Maclear, Secondary Market Fees FAQ]. Mintos charges 0.85% on every secondary-market sale, calculated on the final price after discount or premium [source: Mintos Help Center]. EstateGuru’s price list in force from 1 November 2025 sets a 1% service fee for the seller and nothing for the buyer [source: EstateGuru price list]. PeerBerry charges 0% to both sides [source: PeerBerry-full SS5].

Waiting periods. These are the rules most investors miss. Maclear requires 14 days after a project reaches Funded status before a regular investment can be listed for the first time, and a buyer on the secondary market cannot relist the position for 30 days after purchase [source: Maclear, June 2026 rules update]. PeerBerry requires a six-month minimum holding period before a loan can be listed at all [source: PeerBerry-full SS5]. EstateGuru blocks a secondary-market buyer from reselling within the first 30 days [source: EstateGuru-full SS5]. Listings also expire: 14 days on Maclear, PeerBerry and Crowdpear.

What a discount really costs you

Put the pieces together for a EUR 1,000 position on Maclear with six months left on a 14.5% loan.

If you list at a 3% discount, roughly where the platform said its top discounts were sitting in June 2026, and the sale completes, you receive EUR 970 minus a 2.5% fee of EUR 24.25, which is EUR 945.75. Your exit cost EUR 54.25. At 14.5% a year that position earns about EUR 12.08 a month, so you paid roughly four and a half months of interest to get out. If you had six months left, the remaining interest you gave up was about EUR 72.50 on top of that.

The same position on Mintos at a 5% discount: EUR 950 minus 0.85% is EUR 941.92, an exit cost of EUR 58.08. Mintos’ fee is lower, but the discount needed to attract a buyer depends on how many buyers there are for that particular lending company that week, not on the fee schedule.

Two conclusions. First, the fee is rarely the biggest part of the cost; the discount is, and the discount is set by the market, not the platform. Second, an early exit is not a loss in the accounting sense if the position has already paid you more interest than the discount, but it is always a transfer from you to the buyer. The buyer on Maclear who picks up that EUR 1,000 position at EUR 970 keeps the original 14.5% coupon on a lower cost basis, which is exactly why the platform advertises the buying side [source: Maclear, 24 June 2026]. When you sell, you are the other side of that advertisement.

Exit fees and holding periods across the platforms we track

Here is where 19 of the platforms we track stand on early exit, from the dossiers and the platforms’ own published terms. “None” means there is no mechanism to exit before maturity other than the loan repaying or a buyback triggering.

PlatformSecondary marketSeller feeHolding period before listingNotes
MaclearYes, since 20242.5% on completed sale14 days after Funded; 30 days after SM purchaseDiscount up to 50%, no premium, min EUR 30, listing 14 days
MintosYes0.85%None statedPremium or discount; defaulted or suspended originators cannot be traded; Core Loans have a free cash-out
PeerBerryYes, since 15 Jan 20260%6 monthsWhole lot only, discount up to 50%, desktop only, EUR 389,585 volume in March 2026
EstateGuruYes, since 20201% (from 1 Nov 2025)30 days for SM buyersPlus EUR 3 per withdrawal and EUR 10 a month inactive-account fee; most of the book in recovery
InRentoYes2%Not statedLiquidity limited per investor reviews
CapitaliaYes2%Not statedNo discount or premium allowed
CrowdpearYes2%Not stated14-day listing, counter-offer feature
InSoilYes1% of nominalNot statedExit timing not guaranteed
TwinoYesNot confirmedNot statedStandard feature
Hive5YesNot confirmedNot statedStandard feature
Reinvest24Yes on paper, since Nov 20200% (buyer pays 1%)Not statedLiquidity collapsed once projects entered recovery; withdrawals frozen since early 2024
ProfitusSwitched off since May 20232% when activen/aNot restored as of 2025
LendermarketNone (announced for 2026)n/an/aAuto Invest FLEX early exit costs 50% of the portfolio’s annual interest rate
RobocashNonen/an/aExit only via repayment or 30-day buyback
NectaroNone (planned 2027)n/an/a41% of investors polled want one
DebitumNone (“coming soon”)n/an/aExit only via repayment
IndemoNone (expected 2026)n/an/aOne note per NPL since Nov 2025, groundwork for a market
ScrambleNonen/an/aCapital locked at least 6 months
LoanchNonen/an/aNo auto-invest either

Sources: Maclear-full, Mintos-full, PeerBerry-full, EstateGuru-full, InRento-full, Capitalia-full, Crowdpear-full, InSoil-full, Twino-full, Hive5-full, Reinvest24-full, Profitus-full, Lendermarket-full, Robocash-full, Nectaro-full, Debitum-full, Indemo-full, Scramble-full, Loanch-full, each SS5, plus the platform pages listed at the end.

Three things stand out. Seven of the nineteen platforms offer no early exit at all, and two more have a market that is switched off or dead in practice. The platforms with the highest advertised yields in the consumer segment, Robocash and Loanch, are among those with no exit. And the one platform that charges nothing to sell, PeerBerry, imposes the longest wait before you can list, so “free” and “fast” are different things.

One correction to our own record: our April 2026 comparison Maclear vs PeerBerry stated that Maclear had no secondary market. Maclear’s own material says the market was added in 2024, and the June 2026 rules update describes a functioning one. We are correcting that comparison separately.

When there is no buyer

A secondary market is not liquidity. It is a place where liquidity can happen if someone on the other side wants your position. The difference matters most exactly when you need it most.

EstateGuru is the clearest case. The market has existed since 2020 and the seller fee has just been cut to 1%, yet by August 2026 roughly 64.9% of the platform’s outstanding portfolio was in recovery [source: EstateGuru-full SS6 and our August 2026 update in What Happens When P2P Loan Defaults]. Nobody buys a claim on a loan that is being enforced through a court in Tallinn or Vilnius, at any discount, because the buyer cannot price when or whether it pays. The only positions that trade are the performing ones, which are the ones you are least eager to sell. Our dossier describes the market as “severely illiquid in 2024-2026” for that reason.

Reinvest24 went further. Its secondary market launched in November 2020 and worked until 2023; once the outstanding projects entered recovery, trading stopped, and withdrawals have been broken since early 2024 with warnings from three national regulators [source: Reinvest24-full SS5 and SS18]. The market still exists as a menu item.

Mintos handles this by rule rather than by silence: loans from lending companies that have been suspended from the secondary market or have defaulted cannot be traded at all [source: Mintos Help Center]. That is more honest than an empty order book, but the effect on you is the same. When Nera Capital left more than EUR 61 million of Mintos investors’ money in limbo in 2026, the position could not be sold; we covered the sequence in Mintos Nera Capital Crisis 2026.

The general rule: a secondary market lets you sell the loans that are fine. It does not let you sell the loans that are the reason you want out.

Building an exit plan before you invest

Because the secondary market is a fallback and not a plan, the reliable way to get money out of P2P lending is to design the way in. Four rules cover most situations.

Match the loan term to the date you need the money. If you will need EUR 5,000 in nine months, do not put it into a 16-month loan and rely on selling it. Put it into loans that mature in seven or eight months, and accept a lower rate if that is the price of the shorter term. On Maclear, the 2-month and 8 to 9-month projects exist for this purpose; on the consumer marketplaces the 30 to 90-day loans do, with the extension caveat above.

Ladder maturities. Spread a lump sum across loans maturing in different months so something is always coming back. A portfolio of twelve positions maturing one a month returns roughly a twelfth of the capital every month without any sale. We described laddering for short-term investors in Best P2P Short Term; it works for any term.

Keep the emergency fund outside P2P. Every guide we publish says this and it is the rule most often broken. Money you might need within a year does not belong in an instrument whose honest exit is “wait”. Our beginner guide How to Start Crowdlending Europe suggests starting at EUR 50 to 500 precisely so that the first lesson about liquidity costs little.

Know the exit terms before you click invest. On Maclear that means: 14 days before you can list, 2.5% if you sell, 30 days locked if you buy on the market, and, since June 2026, bonus positions cannot be listed at all, so the EUR 30 you receive per EUR 500 invested stays until the project matures [source: Maclear, June 2026 rules update]. On PeerBerry it means six months before you can list. On Lendermarket it means either waiting for the loan or paying half a year’s interest to leave a FLEX portfolio early. If a platform does not publish these numbers, that absence is itself information.

Auto-invest makes this harder, not easier, because it keeps reinvesting repayments into new loans with new terms. If you plan to withdraw, switch auto-invest off first and let the repayments accumulate as cash, which is a point we made in P2P AutoInvest Strategy.

Maclear’s secondary market, on its own published numbers

Maclear earns its #3 place for other reasons, set out in Maclear Review 2026, and we have been explicit about its gaps: unaudited accounts, negative equity, and investor funds held on the company’s own balance sheet, as analysed in How to Read P2P Platform Accounts. Liquidity is one area where the platform’s disclosure is unusually specific, so it deserves the same treatment: report what is published, and say what it does and does not prove.

Maclear (#3 of 44, 8.4/10): the most clearly published exit terms we track

Maclear added its secondary market in 2024. By May 2026 the platform reported 1,917 buyers completing 10,929 transactions in a single month, EUR 2.7 million of monthly volume, an average trade of about EUR 250, and 72,702 trades across 11,302 projects since launch. Its headline claim is that every listing created between June 2025 and March 2026 found a buyer before the 14-day window expired, more than 50,000 listings across ten monthly cohorts, with a median time to sell of about three hours [source: Maclear, How to Use the Secondary Market, 24 June 2026, citing maclear.ch/statistics].

The terms are fixed and public: seller pays 2.5% only on a completed sale, buyer pays nothing, minimum trade EUR 30, discount up to 50% and no premium, 14 days before a new investment can be listed, 30 days before a purchased position can be relisted, bonus positions excluded since June 2026. Realised yields of 14.5 to 14.9%, EUR 99.6 million funded and one default in its history are the loan-side numbers [source: Maclear-full SS5-6].

Two caveats belong in the same box. These are the platform’s own statistics, not audited figures, and a 100% sell-through record was built during a period with no distressed loans on the board; the record has not been tested by a stressed month. And 2.5% is the highest seller fee in our table, so a Maclear exit is cheap in time and expensive in fee relative to Mintos or PeerBerry.

Read our full Maclear review | Visit Maclear

Why does this matter more on Maclear than elsewhere? Because Maclear’s loans are bullet loans: monthly interest, principal at the end, 12 to 16 months. There is no amortisation trickling capital back to you, and no originator buyback that returns money after 60 days. Without a working secondary market, a Maclear investor’s only exit would be maturity. With one that has cleared in hours, the platform has removed its biggest structural liquidity weakness, at a price of 2.5% plus whatever discount the day requires. That trade-off is fair to state either way, and we would rather investors see both numbers than either alone.

FAQ

Can I withdraw money from P2P lending at any time?

No. You can withdraw cash that is sitting uninvested in your platform account, but money already lent out comes back on the loan’s repayment schedule. To get it sooner you must sell the position to another investor on the platform’s secondary market, if it has one, and pay any discount and fee that sale requires. Seven of the 19 platforms in our exit table have no secondary market at all, so on those the only exit is repayment or a buyback trigger.

What is a P2P secondary market?

It is a marketplace inside the platform where investors sell loan positions they already hold to other investors. The buyer takes over the remaining repayment schedule. Sellers can usually list at face value or at a discount, and pay a fee if the sale completes: 2.5% on Maclear, 0.85% on Mintos, 1% on EstateGuru, 0% on PeerBerry. Most platforms impose a waiting period before a position can be listed, from 14 days on Maclear to six months on PeerBerry.

How much does it cost to exit a P2P investment early?

The cost is the discount you offer plus the seller fee, plus the interest you would have earned by holding. On a EUR 1,000 Maclear position sold at a 3% discount you net EUR 945.75 after the 2.5% fee, an exit cost of EUR 54.25, or about four and a half months of interest at 14.5%. The discount, not the fee, is usually the larger part, and it is set by how many buyers want that loan that week.

Why can’t I sell a defaulted loan on the secondary market?

Because no buyer can price it. A loan in recovery has an unknown repayment date and an unknown recovery amount, so rational buyers do not bid at any discount. Mintos formalises this by barring trading in loans from suspended or defaulted lending companies. EstateGuru’s market still exists while about 65% of its book is in recovery, but the stalled positions do not trade. A secondary market lets you sell the loans that are fine, not the ones causing the problem.

Is a platform with a free secondary market better for liquidity?

Not necessarily. PeerBerry charges 0% to sell but requires a six-month holding period before you can list and had EUR 389,585 of monthly volume in March 2026. Maclear charges 2.5% but allows listing after 14 days and reported EUR 2.7 million of monthly volume with a median sale time of about three hours in May 2026. Fee, waiting period and buyer depth are three separate things; a real exit needs all three to work.

Why you can trust CrowdIndex

  • 44platforms in continuous coverage
  • 6editorial dimensions per review
  • 33-57sources per platform dossier
  • Qre-checked every quarter

Sources

We ask editors to work from primary sources: regulator registers and filings, audited reports, platform disclosures and court records. Every external source this article relies on is listed below.

  1. Maclear, How to Use the Secondary Market on Maclear published 24 June 2026, updated 3 July 2026: May 2026 buyer and transaction counts, monthly volume, average trade size, cumulative trades, sell-through claim, median time to sell, June 2026 rules update (14-day listing wait, 30-day post-purchase lockup, bonus positions excluded), fee and minimum.
  2. Maclear, Secondary Market Fees FAQ 2.5% seller fee on completed sales only, 0% buyer fee.
  3. Mintos Help Center, How can I exit my investments? updated 7 May 2026: hold-to-maturity wording, 0.85% secondary-market fee, premium and discount, Core Loans cash-out, defaulted and suspended originators not tradable.
  4. Mintos Help Center, What are the fees and charges on Mintos? fee calculated on final sale price after discount or premium.
  5. EstateGuru, Price list in force from 1 November 2025 1% seller fee, no buyer fee, EUR 3 withdrawal fee, EUR 10 monthly inactive-account fee, AUM fee.
  6. Lendermarket, Auto Invest FLEX early exit fee of 50% of the portfolio's annual interest rate; secondary market announced for later in 2026.

About the author

Daniel Brenner

Daniel Brenner Senior Editor

Daniel oversees CrowdIndex's editorial framework and signs off every platform review on the site. He spent six years at Handelsblatt covering retail banking and consumer finance, then moved client-side as Senior Content Manager at N26, where he shipped financial-product copy for eight million European customers. Daniel joined CrowdIndex in 2026 to build the editorial discipline the P2P sector had been missing. Journalism MA from Universität Hamburg, BSc in Economics from Mannheim.

Previously: Handelsblatt, N26

Full profile →

Reviewed by Eva Tamm, Quantitative Analyst